More or Less “not” Miserable

Cosette. Not Colette.

Cosette. The poster girl who has caught our eyes. She made Les Misérables a must-see. And I did see. And I did not regret.

As it comes, Victor Hugo’s remarkable and seriously forlorn masterpiece is once again (and I mean again) adapted to a jam-packed two hours and 33 minutes of a music video. No, I’m not mistaken. IT IS A MUSIC VIDEO. I have this faint reminder of a movie of Madonna, with singing conversations. Though I’m not so sure myself, I think that movie HAD singing conversations. But THIS (not Madonna’s movie) is utterly and truly consist of just that. Singing Conversations. However, despite my opinion of such ART applied, I think (and I rarely “not” think therefore I do all the time) the movie in extreme, was thoroughly enticing. Did it move my heart? Nope. Liam Neeson’s portrayal of Jean Valjean had me squished and squashed. He won my aching heart fair and square. But let’s not talk about the past! Dear me, I’m horribly insensitive.

Liam Neeson

NOW, back to business. Where was I? Oh yes, the coining of the word ‘enticement’. It was, indeed, because of (praise to the actors and actresses!) the emotional struggle and the overwhelming face contortion (a salute to Redmayne, Jackman, and Hathaway) displayed for the viewers to see. And while watching this movie, I find myself quite lacking in the field of emotions. I’m ashamed.

Returning back, the beginning scene of the movie was astounding! Bravo! Good going Mr. Wolverine! With all the veins and stuff! It’s a face worth watching! I was seeing Broadway in a movie. Hugh Jackman was impoverish and pitiful. He was the epitome of hardened slavery -slash- criminal. It did not matter why he became what he was–I’m talking about Valjean here–though we do know why. Our focus is on what’s in scene. He was pulling a big rope tied on a big ship (with several fellow slaves) as a wave of water monstrosity flushed him to weakness. In addition, he sings! (along with the slaves but let’s face it, our eyes are on Valjean) Damn a man who works so well whilst having a heavy-lung  musical voice! It was a captivating shot. Hugh had a patch-shaved head and a bush of a beard. His clothes were tattered, torn and full of germs (you were probably thinking  the word dirty. It’s similar, really.)  His eyes were bloody yellow and strained. His face revealed a tortured soul, trapped forever from the gushing and chilly wind stormed in the eyes of Inspector Javert. It’s a miserable life.

opening scene of Les Mis

Truly a sight of despair. No hope and no light shines down. Look Down, as the song goes. As I am deposited not entirely at the top but most certainly somewhere above, I couldn’t possibly look down. How can I?  How can we? I have no guts. I am that weak. And for sure, this movie has brought me low.

Enough of my whining!

Fantine

So we all know how the story goes. He got out, he became rich and tralala, here comes Anne! Despite looking MISERABLE and dreary, she shone. She was the best face contortionist I have ever seen. It was believable and profound. It was scary and pathetic. She was damned and doomed. It was perfect. It was saddening but beautiful. Well the trailer had nailed us in our head of how well she fitted the role. To say it precisely, she was a class-A actress. Could there have been A-1 ranking, she definitely is.

Marius Pontmercy

What about the others? Helena Bonham Carter, as usual, looked good in her skin. Needless to say more, she was spectacular for a woman with hair problems. Eddie Redmayne was also good and also his buddies in the movie.  But truth be told, I cannot understand the woes of the men and the talk of revolution with all the high and low notes of their voices. Here I would declare a mistake to make such notion into a song. It was hard to listen to their words and listen to the tune of the song. Nothing clashes more than a singing conversation. A musical dialogue should not have been applied. The song ‘Red is for… Black is for..’ was very good but the other speaking lines should not be cast as a lyric. It is entirely my opinion and you can forever tell me otherwise. Be that as it may, I believe Redmayne did well. Obviously from a choir–I believe–he is yet to be known as dreadful.  Amanda Seyfried doesn’t really show herself so much in here–it’s not her fault–but she was also good (what else can I say? Condemn me not for my limited vocabs).

Overall, one could say that one hasn’t wasted one’s money to watch this movie. Do you plan on understanding the story? This is not it, people. I say this new Les Misérables movie stands for entertainment and art. More so to make us aware that this movie is different than the others. The old movie where Uma Thurman and Liam Neeson were, foretold a story of a man whose name is Jean Valjean and the people he had come to encounter and love.

I’m not saying that the new movie is Miserable. It just did not fit in the category of storytelling.  It shows us raw emotion and singing capabilities. Better march on the cinema with lyrics at hand and armed with the joy of hearing songs.  It’s an award-winning movie! Who wouldn’t wanna watch?

1 Comment

  1. It is perfect time to make some plans for the future and it is time to be happy. I’ve read this post and if I could I want to suggest you few interesting things or advice. Maybe you can write next articles referring to this article. I want to read even more things about it!

Leave a Reply

