Venetian Waters

 

I never had a chance to ride a gondola. Or serenaded by a gondolier. Sad.

But I look happy in the picture. Well, who wouldn’t be? I was glad to be here. Or er… there.

Our tour guide said that Venice was sinking.

It’s not that unusual to be walking on the streets with water up to the waist. When the time comes it’s gonna go way above our heads, I’ll be turning that smile upside down. So yes, the appeal of Venice is also what dooms them.

However! It’s bad to be prophets of such ‘doom’. Let’s stop the gloom.

 

if something floats and it’s in Venice, it moves along the Grand Canal. And by daylight it is one of the glories of the Earth. But at night, especially when the moon is full
and the soft illumination reflects off the water and onto the palaces – I don’t know how to describe it so I won’t… ~ William Goldman

Another sad thing is… I haven’t seen Venice at night. 😦

But then, seize the day, right? Here’s a few pictures of the canal without my face to mar the image.

Have you been here with your girlfriend? wife? boyfriend? husband?
That is lovely. 🙂

What does Venice look like, 5 years now? I bet it looks just the same; as beautiful as ever.

Leave a Reply

