Assisi’s Ancient Edges and Structures

I think I mentioned that I’m not good with dates. “Ancient” is just an hyperbolic (if not true) adjective to what is really visible in one’s eyes.

Take these passages, for example. See how ‘ancient’ they are?

I can’t believe how these structures are still standing. How formidable, dependable and strong.

And quaint!

You wanna see something truly old? Welcome to  Tempio di Minerva!

For the birthplace of St. Francis, this is quite…contradictory.

I know I haven’t been the most informative person out there. I’m not even qualified. The link here tells us that this was built around the 1st Century BC, but then converted to a Christian church around the 1500’s.

Now, how about a guessing game? What structure is this:

Nothing? Here’s a clearer clue:

I hope your answer is: St Mary of the Angels…or variants of this name. 😀

Up for another guessing game?

Now that’s obvious!

Basilica di Santa Chiara.
I would have loved to share to you what’s inside. But no pictures were allowed. And to my despair, I’m slowly forgetting what it looked like inside. 😦

Okay, here’s my last game:

The Papal Basilica of Saint Francis of Assisi.

A beautiful church featuring open spaces inside and out.

it is in dying that we are born to eternal life. ~ St. Francis of Assisi

While we do make a silly group in one of the most holiest places on Earth, we were truly amazed and stupefied. It’s not something that I can describe. You have to be there to feel what I felt. I know it’s been 5 years now but that does not diminish the experience.

Whenever you find yourself in a country so full of history, make sure to visit Assisi.

Leave a Reply

