Eiffel Tower Twenty Twelve

2012 was the (not the end of the world) year that got me started to travel. Thanks to my parents (and the era of traveling at ease…sometimes), I have visited places that keeps me wowed and awed. So it’s no surprise that my blog here is playing catch up.

Back to 2012, I bet the tower looks as is today. The Eiffel Tower. Here’s a little tease. I’ll show you bits and pieces that sums up to what it was, is and will be: the defining attraction.

And we were going up!

 

It’s quite a crush, I’m telling you. And the perfect moment to go to after so much physical contact with strangers, is lunch! See how cozy yet chic, the restaurant was? Or is.

 

Okay, I’m going to stop the pictures of our faces and focus outside.

A city view! Here you’ll appreciate few cars running on the streets.

Is this all the view from the top can offer? Just you wait. After eating, it’s time to walk around. Take a look at the history of the Eiffel:

Yes, there are lots of posters plastered around for you to get a glimpse of how the tower came about.

The posters are mostly written in French and English. Thank goodness for that. I have NO knowledge of French. Nada.

Here’s more of what I had snapped:

Are you now getting an idea of what’s it like up there? Information was everywhere.

Of course, there’s the walkway.

This here is the observatory.

You can peer out to a stunning view of the city.

I can’t help it, I need to take a selfie!

Paris…amazing.

If the view from your eyes is not enough, you can use these babies.
Now, back to the tower itself, the Eiffel tower isn’t a grand attraction. It doesn’t have that classy look. Remember the tour guide/driver we had? She told us that the Parisians actually hated this megastructure. I don’t know if that idea still perseveres today.

I refer of course to the soaring wonder of the age known as the Eiffel Tower. Never in history has a structure been more technologically advanced, materially obsolescent, and gloriously pointless all at the same time. ~ Bill Bryson

No hints of gold, silver or marble, the tower is not elegant at all. Still, they maintain it; like this guy in the picture:

If I recall, the funds used to build this behemoth was very expensive, they just had to finish it and try to attract people in order to gain back the lost money. Well, the idea was a success!

Tourists from all over the world flock to Paris to see the sky high tower. Past, present and future.

Being up there was thrilling. Although an “up” means there’s also a “down”.

What greeted us below was also a treat from our eyes!

Bears lining up!

That bear I’m hugging represents my country: Philippines.

We were lucky to be there for the United Buddy Bears Art Exhibition in Paris. Sheer coincidence!

Okay, maybe you’re hungry for the Eiffel Tower as a whole! As a sum of its parts. I think I’ve kept you waiting long enough.

 

I think this has been my longest post, ever.

But when you feature a tourist spot like the Eiffel Tower, you have to give your best. It’s not just the Eiffel tower from afar, but the tower from the inside looking out or further in.

Or… I just have so many pictures of it. haha. 😀 It’s too bad we didn’t see it light up during the night. It could have been a hell of a spectacular!

16 Comments

  1. Attractive section of content. I just stumbled upon your weblog and in accession capital to assert that I get actually enjoyed account your blog posts. Any way I’ll be subscribing to your augment and even I achievement you access consistently rapidly.

  2. you are in point of fact a just right webmaster. The site loading speed is incredible. It sort of feels that you’re doing any unique trick. In addition, The contents are masterpiece. you have done a magnificent task in this subject!

  3. Good post. I learn something totally new and challenging on websites I stumbleupon every day. It’s always interesting to read through articles from other authors and practice something from their websites.

  4. You really make it seem so easy with your presentation but I find this matter to be really something which I think I would never understand. It seems too complicated and extremely broad for me. I’m looking forward for your next post, I’ll try to get the hang of it!

Leave a Reply

