A Glimpse of Notre Dame

I’ve been wanting to go inside the Notre Dame. But I fear it’s not to be. Pushing sad thoughts aside, here’s what the Gothic structure look like. Up close and personal.

(Remember, the photos were taken 5 years ago.)

That’s my chance to take a selfie!


See that crowd at my back? A lot of Asians (Group of Japanese, Group of Chinese, Group of Koreans, etc) come with a tour guide. A tour guide who knows their language. It’s quite convenient. But it sucks on my selfie.

Disney’s the Hunchback of Notre Dame was one of my favorite movies. The songs, the story…it was and is still absolutely amazing.

I can only imagine Quasimodo swinging around, looking down on us.

I sometimes wonder how smart can someone be… to build something like this. They don’t have the kind of technology we have right now. BUT! They did had a hand on making the technology today. So my question stands: How smart can someone be, in a century of few means?

Look who’s popping on the side: Charlemagne!

Copying info from norstad.org, the inscription is somewhat translated to “Charlemagne and his noble companions/guards”.

If I listened to half of what my History teacher was discussion, I could have shared to you a tidbit information or two.
You’ll just have to satisfy yourselves with wikipedia.

While passing through an obscure nook of Notre Dame cathedral, Victor Hugo noticed the Greek work for fate carved in the stone. He imagined a tormented soul driven to engrave this word. From this seed sprang his monumental novel “The Hunchback of Notre Dame”. ~ Alexandre Steele

One day I’m gonna come back. And I’m gonna see what’s inside this cathedral. I bet it will still look the same. I bet it will look the same as other churches in Europe. But this is an ICONIC one.

While I am saving up for my future, here’s to reminiscing. 🙂

6 Comments

  1. I’m impressed, I have to admit. Seldom do I come across a blog that’s both equally educative and engaging, and let me tell you, you’ve hit the nail on the head. The problem is an issue that too few folks are speaking intelligently about. I’m very happy that I came across this during my hunt for something relating to this.

  2. Thank you a lot for sharing this with all folks you actually recognize what you are talking about! Bookmarked. Kindly also seek advice from my web site =). We may have a hyperlink trade agreement among us

  3. Its like you learn my thoughts! You seem to understand a lot about this, such as you wrote the e book in it or something. I believe that you simply can do with a few % to force the message home a little bit, however other than that, that is excellent blog. A great read. I will certainly be back.

Leave a Reply

