Standing on Mount Etna

Okay folks. I believe I have an explanation to do. Especially on the few photos.

I have lots and lots of videos to show you, but like all storage devices, my memory card got full. So I deleted a few of them. And when I say few, I mean ALL. Like, HOW STUPID CAN I BE?!?!?!!?!?! No, it’s difficult to retrieve them because they were already OVERWRITTEN. HOW? Well, I kind of notice the LOST of ALL videos AFTERWARDS. Like, after it was all overwritten? AAAARRRGGGHHHH. Tell me I’m not alone on this.

Moving on, the year was 2014. And it looks like we were going to Sicily.

Do you know what you need to do when you’re in Sicily? Hike on Mount Etna!

“As the sun rose I could see Etna, a truncated cone with a plume of smoke over it… ~ Eric Newby

We were staying in Palermo, so it’s a long journey ahead of us. A scenic journey.

When you reach Etna, it’s not green nor yellow.

It’s black. Yep, we were soooo far up from civilization and there was little rain shower. Another weather broiling in this area.

Outside, the place was teeming with tourists!

Yep, I’m one of them. It was specially windy outside. Not too cold to give you so much chills, but enough strong force to blow you away!

That’s sort of the reason why I took mostly videos (which are forever lost! 😦 ) and not so much on photos. You seriously can’t take a proper picture.

I remember it so well like it just happened yesterday. Our tour guide talked to us about this active volcano, how in any given day, it can erupt. He led uphill, downhill and I remember almost crouching down, trying not to bend from the wind. All the while the guide was talking and talking and I had not listened so much since I was taking “videos” which I can look back on. I was so focused on my bearing. It was actually exciting!

Okay, enough of my experience, here’s the ashes spreading out on the ground.

Here’s the surprising part. In some areas, you wipe away all the ashes, and see ice. It was definitely cold and sparkly. I kid you not! You’ll have to take my word for it. Orrrrrr, you cašn book a trip and see it yourself.

Nature has never fail to amaze me. The Earth is so beautiful. I thank God for giving us this spectacular, spectacular. It was such a amazing experience. A revelation! One that I will forever cherish.

So folks, be smart. Be prepared. DO NOT DELETE MEMORIES FOR THE SAKE OF SPACE! You don’t want to end up like me. Bring many sd cards, batteries, chargers. Be a boy scout, a girl scout. And, ENJOY!

Leave a Reply

